ADAMS, OR. The beautiful area that is home to the Bar M Ranch has a rich history beginning. In 1864, a three-story hand-hewn log inn was built as a stage coach stop for the California Stage Company and is still in use today as the center of all the ranch activities, the "Ranch House". This stop was along the historic Thomas-Ruckel Road which served as a mail route from Boise, Idaho to Walla Walla, Washington.
From 1892 - 1908, the springs were owned by Dr. Bingham who believed the water had medicinal value. He added a building to provide more accommodations that is still used today, known as the "Bunkhouse". From 1908 - 1937 the property changed ownership three times, each proud owner re-naming the springs and resort after themselves. It was the place to go for summer picnics, dances, and swimming.
Previous guests include President Calvin Coolidge and Secretary of State Herbert Hoover. In 1938 Howard and Bonnie Baker, ranchers from Idaho, bought the resort. They named it the Bar M Ranch, and began operating as a dude ranch in the early 1940's. For the next 64 years, three generations of the Baker family welcomed visitors to the ranch. Current owner Calvary Chapel Tri-Cities is excited to use the ranch to share God’s Love.